Travel Blog

Must-Sees in Dublin

Last November I went to Dublin for a short stay so I didn’t get to see nearly as much as I wanted to. Here’s some of the top places not to miss.

img_7080

 

  • Kilmainham Gaol Jail

 

This place was recommended to me by a coworker and it is definitely underappreciated.

Kilmainham Gaol is an old prison in Dublin. Almost everything in the prison is original, from the cells to the stairwells. They did such a great job at preserving everything. If you love history this is one place to go that not many people tell you about.
img_7491

 

  • Guinness Storehouse

 

I’ve received different views on the Guinness Storehouse. Some people say it’s not worth it. I disagree. I am a fan of beer, especially Guinness and you get to see how it’s made and what ingredients go into making the beer. As you head up the levels of the storehouse, you learn different things about the history of the beer. When you make it to the end of the tour, you get to pour your own beer. There is a whole dynamic to pouring the perfect pint of Guinness with the perfect rim of foam on top. Once you poor your beer you can head to the rooftop bar which has a 360° view of Dublin. If you are looking for somewhere to eat, the storehouse has the Brewer’s Dining Hall that has a couple different restaurants to try.

img_7551

 

  • Teelings Distillery

 

Since the Jameson Distillery was closed for renovation when I went, we decided to check out a more local distillery. I would definitely recommend going here if you love whiskey and don’t want all the crowds. The tour prices range from €15 to €30 and includes a tour of the distillery and a tasting of their whiskey.

 

 

  • Whelan’s

 

If you want to enjoy a night in Dublin, Whelan’s is the place to go. There’s always live music going on at the venue with a variety of different artists. The vibe in the venue is so different than places in America. Everyone is so nice and fun. Many people know Whelan’s from appearing in the movie PS I Love You, they even have some signed photos from the cast in the venue.  If you don’t want to listen to live music, Whelan’s has a bar next door to grab a pint and enjoy the Irish nightlife.

 

  • Grafton Street and Henry Street Shopping

 

These two areas are the hub for all the shopping. Grafton street is more pricey while Henry street is more budget friendly with shops like Penny’s and H&M. Grafton street has some good jewelry stores, this is where I bought my Claddagh ring. This area also has good places to eat like The Church which is an old church that was converted into a more modern restaurant. The food was delicious and they also offer coffee with Bailey’s Irish Cream or whiskey.

img_7049

  • Temple Bar

 

The Temple Bar is an area of Dublin that is made up of a bunch of local bars. If you’re looking for a night out this is the place to explore. Although it is touristy, it has some of the best bars and the best night life. It’s very common to bar hop in this area since there are a bunch of bars close together. It’s definitely the louder part of the city that’s for sure.

Image result for temple bar pub dublin

If you want to learn more about Dublin and other places I visited like the Wicklow Mountains and Belfast check out my blog post Things to do in Ireland

 

 

5 thoughts on “Must-Sees in Dublin

  1. Hi! Just dropping by to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog on my recent journey into blogging and I just wanted to share the love. Check out my acceptance post to learn how to accept your nomination: https://mysocalledcrunchylife.com/2017/09/06/blogger-recognition-award/

    Thanks for inspiring me, 
    Marie @ My So Called Crunchy Life

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment