Travel Blog

Cancun

A few years ago we had a work conference at Dreams Playa Mujeres. It was in December however its Mexico so I figured it would be hot and only packed shorts…. boy was I wrong. I had to buy a blanket because I was cold most the time.

The first day we got there we had to ourselves so my roommate and I went to the beach for awhile and had an endless amount of margaritas delivered to us in our little cabana. I loved how the beach had a bar and a pool bar as well (which of course we had to test out.) Dreams has so many different restaurants from French to Mexican to fresh seafood. The best part is that you can go to Secrets (adults-only) right next door and eat at those restaurants too. If none of those options strike your fancy, they do have a buffet style as well.

Before heading to dinner at the Gaucho Grill steakhouse, we went back to our rooms which had a banner on our door welcoming us and to make it even better, some custom chocolates and a bottle of champagne. The way the resort is set up, its like every room has some kind of view of the ocean.

The steakhouse was incredible, it was Brazilian style so the waiter came around with different cuts of meat on top of so many other choices. That was an early night since we all had to wake up early for a day of conferences.

After grabbing breakfast at the buffet, and a couple cups of coffee, we headed to the conferences. I was so excited being a novice and it being my first conference with the company. My coworker even helped me win a free 3 night stay and a plane ticket. After the morning conferences it was time to check out some other hotels in the area to get to know the properties more.

First stop, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori. We were greeted with a warm towel and a mojito from their mojito bar. They had everything including a Starbucks. There were also many restaurants to choose from as well. For families with little kids, they have a Nickelodeon experience which was so cute and fun.

The next stop was my favorite, Breathless. There was an insane amount of purple through out the resort. What I like most about the resort is that there are 3 different sections, the Xhale that is a very quiet section that people can really relax. The middle section is called Allure which has some music and a very fun but laid back vibe. The last section is called the Xhilirate which is the party section, they have everything from foam parties to DJs, and an infinity pool. Definitely one of the coolest hotels I’ve ever seen and I really can’t wait to stay there one day.

One of the other properties we saw was The Grand at Moon Palace. It was a very big resort but it wasn’t that close to the beach. They did have a water park and wave pool for the kids and a lot of indoor games as well. I was really impressed by the bowling alley and sports bar they had! It was definitely a lot of walking though and by the time we got back to the bus my feet were done.

That night we all had dinner at Secrets after getting a tour of the resort as well.  I definitely liked Secrets more, it was more my style.

The next day we woke up early for conferences again for the whole morning before getting ready for the fun and games. The theme was summer camp…. enough said. There were all different kinds of games we had to do with our teams and my teammate and I did mixology and got to put together a drink for our President of our company to try… no pressure. I couldn’t even tell you what we through in there but we won! There was also an ice cream eating contest and a sandcastle contest. After all the games were over we had a buffet dinner outside and to continue the fun we had a talent competition. Singing around the campfire was definitely the highlight of the night. We all ended the night by dancing the night away into the morning at their club. We even got our President grooving on the dance floor.  This day was full of so much fun.

The final morning was very tough to get up from all the fun the night before but we got ourselves together and headed to the last set of conferences before heading off to the airport.

I had such a fun time especially it being my first conference and first time in Mexico. I would definitely go back in a heart beat!

Leave a comment